Bees in the City

        

           Bees in the City find flowers and I have not noticed anything beautiful in weeks. I think this while sitting on my stoop. These are the dull humid days that cause fungal infections and people to fall off their roofs.

            I stare at a vacant parking lot, wishing a flower would grow. Right in front of me. Right now.

            But bees find them, I think. How unlikely. An animal the size of a cashew, with a brain the size of a sesame seed finds tiny flowers hiding in cracked sidewalks and sky-rise flowerboxes.

            And all I see is concrete.   

            When I leave my stoop I am buzzing. Alert.

Leave a comment

Filed under Animalia (creatures), On Writing/Publishing

Leave a Reply

